Sweden map outline

Outline map of Sweden. Sweden map outline (Northern Europe - Europe) to print. Sweden map outline (Northern Europe - Europe) to download. Sweden (officially, the Kingdom of Sweden) is divided into 21 counties (Ian) and 290 municipalities (kommuner). In alphabetical order, these counties as its shown in Sweden map outline are: Blekinge, Dalarna, Gavleborg, Gotland, Halland, Jamtland, Jonkoping, Kalmar, Kronoberg, Norrbotten, Orebro, Ostergotland, Skane, Sodermanland, Stockholm, Uppsala, Varmland, Vasterbotten, Vasternorrland, Vastmanland and Vastra Gotaland. The municipalities are further divided into 2512 parishes (forsamlinger).

Outline map of Sweden

printPrint system_update_altDownload
Administratively Sweden is divided into 21 counties or län. In each county there is a County Administrative Board or länsstyrelse which is appointed by the government as its mentioned in Sweden map outline. In each county there is also a separate County Council or landsting, which is the municipal representation appointed by the county electorate. The counties, many of which were established before the provincial organization law, which was formed in 1810, have undergone a number of changes. In 1968, the city of Stockholm was included in Stockholm. In 1997, the cities of Kristianstad and Malmöhus were merged and the city of Skåne was established. On January 1, 1998, the provinces of Göteborg, Bohus, Älvsborg, and Skaraborg were assembled and the province of Västra Götaland was established.
Abolished counties in current day Sweden proper as you can see in Sweden map outline are: Skaraborg County + Gothenburg and Bohus County + Älvsborg County (merged as Västra Götaland County in 1999). Kopparberg County (became Dalarna County in 1999). Malmöhus County + Kristianstad County (merged as Skåne County in 1997). Norrland County (in 1645 divided into Västerbotten County, Hudiksvall County and Härnösand County). Nyköping County, Gripsholm County and Eskilstunahus County (united in 1683 to become Södermanland County). Närke County (became Örebro County). Härnösand County (1645–1654, formed Västernorrland County). Hudiksvall County (1645–1654, formed Gävleborg County). Stockholm Överståtshållarämbete (1634–1967, united with Stockholm County). Svartsjö County (1786–1809, united with Stockholm County). Öland County (1819–1826, united with Kalmar County).